About Poland

Officially the Republic of Poland is a country in Central Europe which is bordered by  Germany to the west, the Czech Republic and Slovakia to the south, Ukraine, Belarus and Lithuania to the east, and the Baltic Sea and Kaliningrad Oblast, a Russian exclave, to the north.

Its capital and the biggest city in the same time is Warsaw. The official language is Polish.

Poland is a member of the European Union, NATO, the United Nations, the World Trade Organization, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), European Economic Area, International Energy Agency, Council of Europe, Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, International Atomic Energy Agency and G6.


On 1 July 2011, Poland replaced Hungary as the holder of the rotating Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

More information:

1. Poland Travel Guide


2. Lonely Planet-Poland